Committees

From The EUS Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Committees committees committees. They're the lifeblood of the EUS, concentrating the interest of engineering undergraduates into specific bodies with specific mandates. They cover a major of all EUS Groups, and wildly vary in scope, mandate, and membership.

Definition

The term committee is stretched so thin by the various groups that hold it's title, it's tough to put a strict definition on it; both The Plumber's Faucet and the Equipment Funding Committees share the term, where's the overlap? Section 5 of the EUS Constitution defines five possible variations of committees within EUS; while these are rarely known by the members, it helps outline the existence of certain committees. Unfortunately the constitution is very loose in the definitions, what is found below is the current interpretation:


Organizing Committees

Organizing committees is the catchall term for committees that are tertiary to student life at McGill. This includes events, projects, publications, and so on that offer new opportunities for students. They are additive to student life, but are not necessary to the functioning of EUS as an organization.

Standing Committees

Standing committees are groups that assist in the machinations of EUS, be it for funding, sustainability, first-year outreach, and so on. They exist as a supportive role, working to fulfill the EUS operating mandates.

Service Committees

Service committees is a term for groups that explicitly provide services. While it may seem redundant, yes, technically all of the EUS services are considered 'Service Committees'. The definition of a service is tricky; it could be argued that event planning committees provide a service, that Plumbers' Student Design is a service, but by the strictest of definitions they are not categorized as such. Service committees today tend to be in demand year-round by the students, exchange currency for the service, and have paid employees.

Select Committees

Select committees, also commonly referred to as ad hoc committees are created to aid the EUS executives research issues of interest. They are not selection committees, see below. Select committees exist for the duration of the time needed for research; the findings are then reported to EUS Council alongside a recommendation. There is not a poignant example in recent memory.

Standing Selection Committees

Selection Committees exist to aid in the fair selection of a variety of leadership roles among the EUS, including, but not limited to the EUS VP Finance, Service Managers, and chairs of the various EUS groups. Do not be mistaken, there is not one selection committee, but a catchall term for the temporary groups that get together to select positions.
A lot of groups have their own bylaws dictating when selection committees are formed, who sits on them and so on. There is one overruling Selection Committee Bylaw that dictates how these groups must act.

List of Committees

Committee Name Type Email Overseeing Exec(s)
Equity Committee Standing equity@mcgilleus.ca President
EUS 2020 Standing 2020@mcgilleus.ca President
Student-Faculty Liaison Committee Standing president@mcgilleus.ca President
Sustainability (SEAM) Standing seam.chair@mcgilleus.ca President
Club Funding Committee Standing funds.director@mcgilleus.ca President, VP Clubs & Admin
Design Funding Committee Standing funds.director@mcgilleus.ca President, VP Clubs & Admin
Engineering Student Academic Committee Standing vpacademic@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
Equipment Funding Committee Standing funds.director@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
Engineering Support Fund Committee Standing funds.director@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
TechFair Committee Organizing techfair@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
TechWeek Committee Organizing techweek@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
Engineering Peer Tutoring Service Organizing epts@mcgilleus.ca VP Academic
Clubs Council Standing vpadmin@mcgilleus.ca VP Clubs & Admin
Junior Council Standing junior.council@mcgilleus.ca VP Clubs & Admin
Handbook Committee Organizing handbook@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
The Plumber's Ledger Organizing ledger@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
The Plumber's Faucet Organizing faucet@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
Website Committee Organizing webmaster@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
Yearbook Committee Organizing yearbook@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
IT Committee Standing it.director@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
.psd (Plumber's Student Design) Committee Organizing psd@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
Graduation Committee Organizing gradcom@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
TeN Committee Organizing ten@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
Plumber’s Ball Committee Organizing gradcom@mcgilleus.ca VP Communications
Canadian Engineering Committee Standing cec2016@mcgilleus.ca VP External
Conference on Diversity in Engineering Standing cde2016@mcgilleus.ca VP External
Engineering Games Committee Organizing enggames@mcgilleus.ca VP External
McGill Engineering Committee Organizing engineering.competition@mcgilleus.ca VP External
Open Air Pub Committee Organizing oap@mcgilleus.ca VP Finance
Engineering Space Improvement Fund (SSF) Standing ssf@mcgilleus.ca VP Finance, VP Services
EUS Ski Trip Organizing ski.trip@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Orientation Week Committee Organizing oweek@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
McGill Engineering Rule The World Committee Organizing oweek@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Engineering Week Committee Organizing eweek@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
McGill Engineering Rule The Winter Committee Organizing eweek@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Engineering Socials Committee Organizing esc@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Engineering Adventure Committee Organizing eac@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Blues Pub Managers Organizing blues.pub@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Sports Commissionners Organizing sports@mcgilleus.ca VP Internal
Copi-EUS Service copieus@mcgilleus.ca VP Services
Frostbite Service frostbite@mcgilleus.ca VP Services
General Store Service generalstore@mcgilleus.ca VP Services
The Cube Service cube@mcgilleus.ca VP Services